The Steering Committee (SC) is charged with managing the business of the EAPCRI including funding. It meets 2-3 a year to review the progress of the EAPCRI, plan and coordinate its activities and ensure the minutes and accounts are in order. In addition the SC communicates directly with other academic groups as well as with commercial companies who has similar interests as the EAPCRI. The SC also identifies opportunities for the EAPCRI to present its work at national and international forums.

The Steering Committee consists of the Chair of the EAPCRI (Peter Donnelly), the secretary (Jurgen Loeffler) who is also chair of the laboratory Working Party (LAB WP) and the Treasurer (Rosemary Barnes) who is also Chair of the Clinical Working Party (CLIN WP). In addition we have initiated a Statistical Working Party (STATS WP) which is Chaired by Peter Donnelly and includes the SC and Mario Cruciani (Verona) and Carlo Mengoli (Padua). Its task is to manage the statistical analyses as required by the LAB WP.

J Peter Donnelly (Chair)
Rosemary Barnes (Treasurer)
Juergen Loeffler (Secretary)

Dr J Peter Donnelly

J Peter Donnelly PhD.
Chair of the EAPCRI
Co-ordinator, Studies in Supportive Care
Department of Haematology
Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Centre & Nijmegen Institute for Infection, Inflammation and Immunity
Geert Grooteplein Zuid 8
6525 GA Nijmegen
The Netherlands
Tel: +31-24-361-9987

Dr. Donnelly is Coordinator of Studies in Supportive Care of the Department of Haematology and is a member of the Nijmegen Institute for Infection Inflammation and Immunity.

He is Chair of the EORTC Infectious Disease Group and member of the EBMT Infectious Diseases Working Party and EUCAST subcommittee on Antifungal Susceptibility Tests. His current research interests are the epidemiology, diagnosis and management of invasive fungal diseases, mucosal barrier injury and infection and infectious complications of the neutropenic patient.

Dr Rosemary A Barnes

Dr Rosemary A Barnes MA, MD, FRCP, FRCPath
 Treasurer of the EAPCRI, Chair of the Clinical Working Party
Department of Infection, Immunity and Biochemistry
School of Medicine
Cardiff University
Hearth Park
Cardiff, CF14 4XN, UK
Tel: +44-29-207-421-66

Rosemary Barnes is Clinical Reader in Medical Microbiology and acting head of the Department of Infection, Immunity and Biochemistry at the School of Medicine at Cardiff University.

She qualified from Cambridge University and Westminster Medical School.

Her research interests include infections in immunocompromised patients. A particular focus is the rapid diagnosis of invasive fungal infection and the impacts this has on the optimal use of antifungal agent and patient outcomes.

Prof Juergen Loeffler

PD Dr. rer. nat. Juergen Loeffler, Ph. D.
Secretary of the EAPCRI
Universitetsklinikum Wuerzburg
Medizinische Klinik II
Forschungslabore Haus C11
Josef-Schneider-Strasse 2
97070 Wuerzburg
Telephone: +49 931 20136412
Fax: +49 931 20136409

1985-1994 Lessons in Biology, University of Tuebingen
1994 Diploma in Biology, University of Tuebingen
1994-1997 Ph.D. thesis, University of Tuebingen
1997 Ph.D. (Dr. rer. nat.)
Since 2005 Member of the Faculty (Privatdozent), University of Tuebingen
1997-2004 Postdocteral position, University of Tuebingen, Dept. of Haematology, Oncology
Since January 2005 Head of the Molecular Laboratory, University of Wuerzburg, Medizinische Klinik II